Centre for International Experience Alert: Travel to the U.S.

Originally posted on March 7, 2017
Source:  Student Life

The Safety Abroad Office is continuing to closely monitor travel restrictions impacting persons holding passports from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen set to be imposed by the United States on March 16th, 2017.

Global Affairs Canada has issued a statement that Canadians travelling with a Canadian passport, including dual citizens who have citizenship from Canada and from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria or Yemen, are exempt from the Executive Order issued March 6, 2017. Permanent residents of Canada who are travelling with a passport from one of these six countries are eligible to apply for a visa and a waiver to the Executive Order from within Canada; those in possession of a valid visa may be granted entry.

At this stage, we recommend that students who may be impacted consider postponing travel through the U.S. Students that have immediate travel plans, which cannot be postponed should contact their local consulate and their airlines. All students should expect delays in the clearance process.

If you are travelling on University activity and have not registered with the Safety Abroad Office, please do so as soon as possible.

Learn how to register with the Safety Abroad Office and attend a US-specific pre-departure orientation.

For more information, please contact:

Safety Abroad
Phone: 416.946.3929
Email: safety.abroad@utoronto.ca